In The Blink of An Eye…

What did I miss in the blink of an eye?

It was the romance that blossomed beneath the sky, the prejudice of joy and the slavery of laughter, the sweet tears that follow and the extreme desicbles there after.

What did I miss in the blink of an eye?

The sound of absolute discomfort in the lazy afternoon, the subtle motion of the otherwise still moon, under the stars I missed the first kiss of promise made by a true lover, a bond so sacred that the world cannot sever.

What did I miss in the blink of an eye?

A mother’s heart felt cry as the son she raised to be a man does not belong to her but the world from now, and her sleep which is full of pauses with the lingering fear of why and how.

I also miss the little girl blowing dandelions in the park, the look of curiosity and joy on her face is even more comforting than Noah’s Ark.

What did I miss in the blink of an eye?

I missed the first drop of rain that carves it way racing towards the earth, following which is the blush of mother nature’s birth. I miss the perfume of mother nature as she dresses up in green awaiting the night, and I miss the clouds quarrelling to have the first dance with her in a thunderous fight.

I miss the swords of lighting and the darkened blaziers they wear for the ball, ready to shed off their coats in the chill of the sun as soon as they leave the universe’s great hall.

What did I miss in the blink of an eye?

It is the sound of a million heart beats in sync with each other  and little girl welcoming the cry of her little brother. I miss watching the rush of birds as they race along to work, some ducks the bosses and some chickens their clerks. I miss the yawn of the sun and the twinkle of the stars, I also miss the heroic acts of  brave men and women as they put the wrong behind bars.

What did I miss in the blink of an eye?

I miss a life and also death, I miss the mist of the deepest breath, I miss the harmony of music and silence, and I miss the acts of ordinance.

The creation, existance and destruction of every tiny morsel until the ashes dry… That and more is what I miss in the blink of an eye…..
Leave a Reply

